Anterior pituitary gland

The anterior pituitary gland comprises five types of secretory cells, arranged in nests and cords. These cells are distinguished by histochemical and immuno-cytochemical staining, and by electron microscopic appearances, into: Somatotrophs: GH Lactotrophs: PRL Thyrotrophs: TSH Gonadotrophs: LH and FSH Corticotrophs: ACTH

Somatotrophs and lactotrophs are acidophilic, while thyrotrophs, gonado-

trophs and corticotrophs are basophilic. Furthermore, there are inactive secretory cells called chromophobe cells.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Wake Up Now

Wake Up Now

For Those Who Can’t Wake Up On Time And Fatigue Throughout The Day. Now You Can Wake Up Early And Be Super Energetic Everyday.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment