Frontal lobes

They lie anterior to the central or Rolandic sulcus and superior to the Sylvian fissure. Functional areas include:

The primary motor cortex: area 4: precentral gyrus, in the anterior bank of the central sulcus. This forms a homunculus, a cortical map of the body. The area directly controls all voluntary movement.

The premotor (supplemental motor) cortex: area 6: the superior and middle frontal gyri of the precentral gyrus.

The frontal eye field: area 8: posterior part of the middle frontal gyrus

The prefrontal areas: areas 9-12, 32 and 45-47. These are concerned with personality and insight.

Motor speech area (Broca's area): areas 44, 45: the opercular and triangular parts of the inferior frontal gyrus. This area is concerned with the production of written and spoken language.

Areas 4 and 6 comprise the frontal agranular cortex.

Corticofugal pathways from the frontal lobe include corticospinal; cortico-reticular; and corticostriate, corticothalamic and corticopontine pathways.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Tips and Tricks For Boosting Your Metabolism

Tips and Tricks For Boosting Your Metabolism

So maybe instead of being a pencil-neck dweeb, youre a bit of a fatty. Well, thats no problem either. Because this bonus will show you exactly how to burn that fat off AS you put on muscle. By boosting your metabolism and working out the way you normally do, you will get rid of all that chub and gain the hard, rippled muscles youve been dreaming of.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment