Motor system

The motor system consists of: Upper motor neurons, which are the neurons of primary motor, premotor and supplementary motor cortices; Lower motor neurons, which include: Alpha and gamma motor neurons of the anterior horn; Intermediolateral column neurons of lateral horn; Motor nuclei of III, IV,VI, XII nerves.

Anterior horn cell activity is modulated by the corticospinal (pyramidal) tracts, the extrapyramidal system (basal ganglia and cerebellum) and afferent fibres via the posterior spinal nerve roots.

A motor unit comprises a single anterior horn cell, its motor axon and the muscle fibres innervated by the axon, usually 100-200 in number.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Wake Up Now

Wake Up Now

For Those Who Can’t Wake Up On Time And Fatigue Throughout The Day. Now You Can Wake Up Early And Be Super Energetic Everyday.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment