Phases of the EEG

The following EEG phases have been recognised in sleep (a state of increased threshold of response to external stimuli):

Non-rapid eye movement, which involves the following stages: V

Stage 1: low amplitude activity, associated with slow rolling eye move- jf d ments; p

Stage 2: sleep spindles (12 Hz); high-voltage discharges or K complexes; n

Stage 3: high-voltage and very slow delta waves (1-4 Hz); occasional sleep l spindles.

Rapid eye movement sleep, which is characterised by: Low-voltage mixed-frequency desynchronised EEG pattern, as in the arousal pattern in awake subjects (paradoxical sleep); 3-5 Hz saw tooth waves; Hippocampal sinusoidal waves at 5-10 Hz; Phasic bursts of rapid conjugate eye movements; Reduced or absent skeletal muscle tone; The occurrence of dreams;

Hyperventilation, tachycardia and fluctuating blood pressure; Penile erection.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Invisible Viagara

Invisible Viagara

You are about to discover the "little-known" techniques, tricks and "mind tools" that will show you how to easily "program" your body and mind to produce an instant, rock-hard erection. Learn how to enjoy all of the control, confidence and satisfaction that comes from knowing you can always "rise to the challenge" ... and never have to deal with embarrassment, apologies, shyness or performance anxiety in the bedroom, ever again.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment